Spicy salmon

I love fish. A year ago, I turned pescatarian for a month and a half, and I really didn’t miss meat. Growing up, I had seafood every single day for lunch. I come from a coastal region of India, so fish is a huge deal for us. We deal with fish in mostly 2 ways – fish curry or fried fish. There are numerous varieties of fish curries from Kerala – some with coconut milk, some that look like soup. I’ve tried a couple of varieties at home, and some have come out excellent. The fried fish to me is almost comfort food, and this Sunday, when I was feeling a little lazy and just wanted to whip up something quick, tasty and not fatty, I decided to make this fish.

Spicy salmon with spinach

Ingredients
3/4-1lb of salmon. Cut into thick pieces.
1 lemon for the juice
3 tsp chili powder (use mild chili powder (Kashmiri chili powder) – you can also mix 2 tsps of mild chili  powder and 1tsp of Cayenne
3/4tsp turmeric powder
salt
1/2tsp ginger paste – you can use a mortar and pestle to create a paste, or buy it premade. If you are in a bind, you can just use 1/2tsp of garlic powder.
1/2tsp of minced ginger.

Preparation
Rinse the salmon pieces with water and then dry with a towel. Add the lemon juice, chili powder, turmeric, garlic, ginger and salt and make a paste. If its too dry, add some water to get the right consistency. Taste this paste and adjust salt, chili powder. Once you are done, smear the paste onto the fish pieces, and then let them marinate for about 20 mins. Heat a pan with vegetable oil, and wait till it gets hot. Add the salmon pieces to the pan, wait 5-7mins and then flip, and cook for another 5 mins.

Making spinach is super easy. I minced 2 cloves of garlic. Add olive oil to a pan, turn up to medium heat, and then add minced garlic. Cook for about 2 mins, until the raw garlic smell disappears and then just add spinach (2 handfuls of baby spinach) to the pan. Add some salt and pepper and saute. It should be done in about 5 minutes.

2 Comments on “Spicy salmon”

  1. Michelle says:

    That looks delish. I make spinach like that when I make eggs but I’ve never tried it with salmon.


Leave a Reply

